CMDCM(SW/AW) Jason R. Ortega

Command Master Chief, Expeditionary Strike Group Seven

A native of San Antonio, Texas, Command Master Chief Jason R. Ortega enlisted in the Navy in June 1999. He attended basic training and engineman (EN) “A” school in Great Lakes, Illinois

His initial sea tour was aboard USS Robin (MHC 54) and was followed with subsequent sea tours aboard USS Chung-Hoon (DDG 93) and Patrol Coastal Crew Echo. While serving aboard Robin and Chung-Hoon, he operated in nearly every operational fleet’s area of responsibility. While assigned to rotational crew PC Crew Echo, he served aboard USS Squall (PC 7), USS Tempest (PC 2), USS Typhoon (PC 5), USS Chinook (PC 9) and USS Monsoon (PC 4) operating in Little Creek, Virginia and Forward Deployed Naval Forces Bahrain.

Master Chief Ortega’s shore tours include Training Support Center Great Lakes as a Navy military training instructor where he qualified as a master training specialist. His subsequent shore tours at Commander, Naval Air Force, U.S. Pacific Fleet and Commander, Naval Surface Force, U.S. Pacific Fleet were as an advisor to the type-commanders as the command climate specialist.

He was selected for the command master chief program in 2017 and enjoyed a successful initial CMDCM tour onboard USS Pearl Harbor (LSD 52). His following tours were leading the “Swift Intruders” of Assault Craft Unit Five and the nearly 1,200 “Iron Gators” aboard USS Essex (LHD 2).

Master Chief Ortega currently serves as the Command Master Chief of Expeditionary Strike Group Seven and Task Force 76/3 based in Okinawa, Japan.

Master Chief Ortega is a 2013 graduate of Class 13B at the Air Force Senior Enlisted Academy, Class 181 of the CMDCM/COB Course in Newport, Rhode Island, and Keystone Class 23-1 at the National Defense University. He has earned his associate degree from Coastline Community College and has received personal awards to include the Meritorious Service Medal (2), Navy and Marine Corps Commendation Medal (6), Navy and Marine Corps Achievement Medal (5) and various service and campaign awards.